CASCWA'S STATE EXECUTIVE BOARD


CASCWA STATE PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

By the way, you are doing a great job!

As we look back over the past year, we are all reminded that life, as we knew it, has changed dramatically. Daily news of dropping stock markets, rising gas prices, changing Covid mandates and now watching a war develop in Ukraine has taken its toll.

As my own family endures the trials of daily life; including serious illnesses, loss of family members and friends (too many to count), experiencing first-hand the effects of Covid, fires, evacuations, and “Snowmageddon” which left us without power for two weeks, we are reminded that we are not alone. Each of us have battled our own challenges and are trying to navigate a world that seems to change daily.

During a very challenging day last week, I received a timely email from a fellow CASCWA member with nine simple words that prompted me to take a deep breath and press on: “By the way, you are doing a great job!” The value of colleagues, outside of your office or local area, is a reminder to all of us that words can change our perspective, outlook and desire to model behaviors and practices that influence in a positive way.  It should not have been a surprise when one of our very own reached out and encouraged me with those words, it’s what we do.

Collaboration amongst the CASCWA community is built on relationships, compassion and encouragement.  We must model the behaviors we expect of our students and our staff and build one another up in times that threaten to tear us down.  Celebrating the success and efforts of others, listening to one another with the intention of encouraging and finding strength in the good things that are happening helps us redirect our minds to the positive.

There are good things happening and I would like to celebrate and draw attention to a few:

  • ·         Evelyn Ocasio, Andrew Kevy, and members of the Bay Section hosted a powerful training last week highlighting homeless and newcomer resources and supports.
  • ·         Mike Lombardo (Placer COE) and Amanda Dickey (Santa Clara COE) are doing great work promoting mental health services for students through their efforts with MHSSA Professional Learning Network and legislative briefings.  
  • ·         Kudos to Leanne Wheeler, Karmina Barrales, and Heidi Brahms at CDE for your tireless efforts to support Homeless liaisons throughout the state. We are looking forward to increased support via the newly developed Homeless Education Technical Assistance Centers (HETAC).
  • ·         ProjectCamp is an amazing program developed to provide safety and joy for every child experiencing trauma on the heels of a disaster in their community.  For more information contact Henry Meier, Director of External Affairs at henry@projectcamp.co

Stay tuned for a job description of the position vacated at the CDE by David Kopperud. CASCWA members might be a great fit.

Blue skies are ahead – spring is sneaking in and we are all looking forward to sunshine, new life, and brighter days.  Stay strong, stay positive, and take the time to encourage those around you.  I look forward to seeing you all in person in May at our CASCWA Conference.

Sincerely,

Melissa Parrett   

Nevada County Superintendent of Schools

mparrett@nevco.org



Click below for a listing of all of CASCWA's State Presidents from 1937 to today!

List of CASCWA State Presidents up to 2021-22.doc



2021-22 CASCWA STATE EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS


Melissa Parrett

State President

Nevada County SOS

mparrett@nevco.org

Jeni Mendel

Past State President

Grossmont HSD Retired

jenifermendel53@gmail.com

Kevin Torosian

President Elect 

Central USD

dr_kevi@yahoo.com

Rick Riegel

Vice President

Placentia Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@pylusd.org 

Michelle Walsh

Secretary

Irvine USD

MichelleWalsh@iusd.org

Robin Gainey

Treasurer

Mojave USD

robingainey@mojave.k12.ca.us

Lisa Sanchez

Membership Chair

Woodland Joint USD

lisa.sanchez@wjusd.org 

Jenifer Gomeztrejo

State SARB Rep.

Student Support Services Solutions

gomeztrejo.jennifer@s4edconsultants.org 

Evelyn Ocasio

Bay Section President

Hayward USD

 eocasio@husd.k12.ca.us

Virginia Burns

Delta Section President

Sutter COE

VirginiaB@sutter.k12.ca.us 

Praxedes Torres

San Joaquin Section President

Parlier USD

ptorres@parlierunified.org

Vicente Bravo

Southern Section President

Da Vinci Schools (Wiseburn USD)

vbravo@davincischools.org 

Sherman Garnett

Legislation Committee

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, Retired

sherman_garnett@verizon.net

Alan Dosty

Legislation Committee

Lodi USD

adosty@lodiusd.net 

Dan Martin

Legislative Committee

Los Banos USD

DMartin@losbanosusd.k12.ca.us 

Andrew Kevy

Co-Webmaster

Hayward USD

akevy@husd.k12.ca.us 

Dennis Wiechmann

Advisor

Sanger USD

dwiechmann@sbcglobal.net

Jennifer Kottke

Co-Intercom Editor

Los Angeles County Office of Education

Frank Boehler

Co-Intercom Editor, Webmaster

Orange USD, Retired

frank_boehler@roadrunner.com




Minutes of Meetings

Traditionally, the CASCWA Executive Board holds meeting approximately five to six times a year.  There is constant communication throughout the year and occasionally there are meetings for special reasons.  These past few years have faced challenges due to the pandemic and several of our meetings have been conducted through zoom.  Our CASCWA  Executive Board continues to be strong and productive. 





© CASCWA
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software