It is summertime and this page is being updated for the 2021-22 school year!

Welcome to Southern Section CASCWA Page!

Contact us:   CASCWA Southern Section, P.O. Box 4222, Orange, CA  92863-4222  (714) 327-1075   bboone@ocde.us 

  PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

  Dear CASCWA Members and Friends,

 April is here and our CASCWA Virtual State Conference is on April 26-27, 2021.  We have a   packed agenda with outstanding speakers from across the state and the country.  Two full   days with over 48 speakers and sessions of utmost importance to the work of Student   Services. Topics will be within the strands of Climate and Culture, Attendance, Safe   Schools, Cultural Competence and Equity, Wellness and Health and Student Issues. 

 We hope you were able to register for our conference before it sold out.  If you are not     already a member of CASCWA, and are in the field of child welfare & attendance, discipline,   restorative practices, or SARB, please consider joining our group.  We are a group of   administrators across the state that collaborate and share resources, strategies, current                                                                      legislation and best practices to better serve our students needs.   Click here to join. 

         Sincerely,
       Rick Riegel Southern Section President

A FEW WORDS ABOUT RICK RIEGEL

Rick Riegel M.A., MFT, PPS is the Administrator of Student Services at the Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District.  He started at Placentia-Yorba Linda in January 2015.  Prior to that, he was the Coordinator of Student Services at the Orange County Department of Education for over 5 years and Coordinator of Counseling and Child Welfare and Attendance at Centralia School District for 9 years.  He began his work with youth as a Marriage, Family and Child Therapist and was Director of Outpatient Services at Straight Talk, Inc. during 17 years working there.  He is the CASCWA President of the Southern Section.  He and his wife Pamela have been married for 40 years and he has 3 grown sons and a granddaughter.

Southern Section Executive Board Meeting Dates and Minutes: 


Southern Section Area State/County/District Events


The faces behind CASCWA's

Southern Section Executive Board







Vicente Bravo

President

Da Vinci Schools

vbravo@davincischools.org

Don English

President Elect

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

donald.english@sbcss.net

Rick Riegel

Past President

Placentia Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@plyusd.org

Leslie Hansen

Vice President

Anaheim Elementary SD

lhansen@aesd.org





Gary McGuire

Treasurer

Riverside USD, Retired

gmcguire.ie@gmail.com


Maria Hwang De Bravo

Secretary

Student Support Services Solutions

bravo.maria@4edconsultants.org


Sherman Garnett

Legislative Chair

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, retired

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net

Jason Ferrell

Webmaster

Anaheim Elementary SD

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org





Barbara Higgins

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

barbara.higgins@sdcoe.net

Melissa Schoonmaker

LACOE Representative

Los Angeles COE 

schoonmaker_melissa@lacoe.edu

Jenee Peevy

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

jpeevy@sdcoe.net

Hortencia Armendriz

Imperial County Representative

Calexico USD, Retired

harmendariz@cusd.k12.ca.us

Sherman Garnett

Legislative Chair

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, retired

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net



Jeni Mendel

Board Advisor

Grossmont HSD Retired

jenifermendel53@gmail.com 


Monique Yessian

Orange County Representative  

Tustin USD

myessian@tustin.k12.ca.us


Ilsa Garza-Gonzales

Board Advisor

Fallbrook Union High SD

igarzagonzalez@fuhsd.net


Bonnie Boone

Registrations & Website 

Orange County Dept. of Education

bboone@ocde.us



Jennifer Gomeztrejo

State SARB Representative

Student Support Services Solutions

Gomeztrejo.Jennifer@

4edconsultants.org

Amir Avali

Southern School Attendance

Riverside COE

aalavi@rcoe.us

Todd Bull

School Innovation & Achievement

Regional Account Manager

toddb@sia-us.com

Aurora M. Perry

Member at Large

Beaumont Unified School District, Retired

Aurora.mendoza.perry@gmail.com

Tim Catlin

Member at Large

ABC Unified SD

tim.catlin@abcusd.us

Ken Lorge

Member at Large

Placentia Yorba Linda USD, Retired

k_lorge@yahoo.com

Jessie Cherri

Member at Large

Orange USD, Retired

rcherri@socal.rr.com

Phil Kauble

Honorary Member at Large

Los Angeles COE, Retired

philkauble@cox.net



Betty Folsom 

Member at Large 

Riverside County Office of Education, Retired

folsomb8@gmail.com 

Hunter Taylor

District Attorney Rep.

Riverside County District Attorney's Office

HunterTaylor@RivCoDA.org

Donna Dalton Opoku-Agyeman

Past President Advisor

Lake Elsinore USD

Drdisblessed1@gmail.com

Gerald Hime

Conference Chairman

Los Angeles COE, Retired

Gjhime@earthlink.net


Strategic Partners


CASCWA PARTNER PUBLICATIONS - CLICK ON THE BOOK BELOW!


2021 RED BOOK



STUDENT RECORDS 



BULLYING



CONVERSATION

STARTERS




California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance.  501(c)4 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 879 Sanger Ca 93657

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software