Welcome to Southern Section CASCWA Page!

Contact us:   CASCWA Southern Section, P.O. Box 4222, Orange, CA  92863-4222  (714) 327-1075   bboone@ocde.us 

  PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

  Dear CASCWA Members and Friends,

 April is here and our CASCWA Virtual State Conference is on April 26-27, 2021.  We have a   packed agenda with outstanding speakers from across the state and the country.  Two full   days with over 48 speakers and sessions of utmost importance to the work of Student   Services. Topics will be within the strands of Climate and Culture, Attendance, Safe   Schools, Cultural Competence and Equity, Wellness and Health and Student Issues. 

 We hope you were able to register for our conference before it sold out.  If you are not     already a member of CASCWA, and are in the field of child welfare & attendance, discipline,   restorative practices, or SARB, please consider joining our group.  We are a group of   administrators across the state that collaborate and share resources, strategies, current                                                                      legislation and best practices to better serve our students needs.   Click here to join. 

         Sincerely,
       Rick Riegel Southern Section President

A FEW WORDS ABOUT RICK RIEGEL

Rick Riegel M.A., MFT, PPS is the Administrator of Student Services at the Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District.  He started at Placentia-Yorba Linda in January 2015.  Prior to that, he was the Coordinator of Student Services at the Orange County Department of Education for over 5 years and Coordinator of Counseling and Child Welfare and Attendance at Centralia School District for 9 years.  He began his work with youth as a Marriage, Family and Child Therapist and was Director of Outpatient Services at Straight Talk, Inc. during 17 years working there.  He is the CASCWA President of the Southern Section.  He and his wife Pamela have been married for 40 years and he has 3 grown sons and a granddaughter.

Southern Section Executive Board Meeting Dates and Minutes: 


Southern Section Area State/County/District Events


The faces behind CASCWA's

Southern Section Executive Board








Rick Riegel

Southern President

Placentia Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@plyusd.org



Vicente Bravo

President Elect

Da Vinci Schools

vbravo@davincischools.org



Jenifer Mendel

Past President

Grossmont UHSD, Retired

jenifermendel53@gmail.com



Sandra Amatriain

Treasurer

Jurupa USD, Retired

sandieamatriain@gmail.com


Our Southern Section Secretary is Janet Gray - Banning USD - JGray@banning.k12.ca.us




Jason Ferrell

Webmaster

Anaheim Elementary SD

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org



Barbara Higgins

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

barbara.higgins@sdcoe.net



Hortencia Armendriz

Imperial County Representative

Calexico USD, Retired

harmendariz@cusd.k12.ca.us



Don English

San Bernardino County Representative

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

donald.english@sbcss.net







Leslie Coghlan

Scholarship Chair & Orange County Representative

Anaheim Elementary SD

lcoghlan@anaheimelementary.org



Melissa Schoonmaker

LACOE Representative

Los Angeles COE 

schoonmaker_melissa@lacoe.edu


Jenee Peevy

San Diego County Representative

San Diego COE

jpeevy@sdcoe.net



Sherman Garnett

Legislative Chair

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, retired

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net







Gerald Hime

Conference Chairman

Los Angeles COE, Retired

Gjhime@earthlink.net



Donna Dalton Opoku-Agyeman

Past President Advisor

Lake Elsinore USD

Drdisblessed1@gmail.com


Ilsa Garza-Gonzales

Board Advisor

Fallbrook Union High SD

igarzagonzalez@fuhsd.net



Bonnie Boone

Registrations & Website 

Orange County Dept. of Education

bboone@ocde.us







Jennifer Gomeztrejo

State SARB Representative

Student Support Services Solutions

Gomeztrejo.Jennifer@

4edconsultants.org



Amir Avali

Southern School Attendance

Riverside COE

aalavi@rcoe.us



Todd Bull

School Innovation & Achievement

Regional Account Manager

toddb@sia-us.com



Phil Kauble

Honorary Member at Large

Los Angeles COE, Retired

philkauble@cox.net







Tim Catlin

Member at Large

ABC Unified SD

tim.catlin@abcusd.us



Ken Lorge

Member at Large

Placentia Yorba Linda USD, Retired

k_lorge@yahoo.com



Jessie Cherri

Member at Large

Orange USD, Retired

rcherri@socal.rr.com



Maria Hwang De Bravo

Member at Large

Student Support Services Solutions

bravo.maria@4edconsultants.org






Betty Folsom 

Member at Large 

Riverside County Office of Education, Retired

folsomb8@gmail.com 


Hunter Taylor

District Attorney Rep.

Riverside County District Attorney's Office

HunterTaylor@RivCoDA.org


 Monique Yessian

Member at Large  

Tustin USD

myessian@tustin.k12.ca.us


Aurora M. Perry

Member at Large

Beaumont Unified School District, Retired

Aurora.mendoza.perry@gmail.com


Strategic Partners


CASCWA PARTNER PUBLICATIONS - CLICK ON THE BOOK BELOW!


2021 RED BOOK



STUDENT RECORDS 



BULLYING



CONVERSATION

STARTERS




California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance.  501(c)4 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 879 Sanger Ca 93657

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software